Autobiography.

This is my autobiography for my film class here in Chile. 

“Born in big city Des Moines, Iowa, I’ve been a killa since day one. Not literally, but in a figurative way, meaning that I am a motivated and ambitious young woman.

I’ll share some other important facts about me now.

I am a very picky eater, and my family was nervous for my survival in a foreign country for that reason. However, as I just finished eating something very green and very mushy, I would say I’m making leaps and bounds here in Chile. I still won’t eat cereal with milk though, that’s too far.

I don’t know how to ride a bike. I grew up on top of a hill, so I’m going to assume my parents were just looking out for my safety when they decided to not teach me that essential life skill and therefore subject me to endless ridicule in my adolescent years. Or perhaps they knew the difficulties I would have combining my lack of balance and general clumsiness with a machine of that type. Touché mom and dad.

I like to tell people that I almost ran track for a small college in Missouri because it makes me feel athletic. I do believe if I had committed to that I could’ve done decently (and by that I mean not last place), but they told me how much they ran each week and I decided that would be a poor decision on my part. Now, I occasionally work out.

Another sporty fact about me is that I was varsity captain of my soccer team in high school. This also makes me sound like an athlete, but if you hear our team’s record, you will find out that is barely true.

I have a black lab named Belle. She likes to run around our house with my shoes or other various pieces of my clothing in her mouth. She is great company besides that.

I really like coffee. Starbucks specifically, but Nescafe is growing on me honestly. Espresso was my first love.

I have two older sisters, and they are both married. It makes family functions a little uncomfortable for me because my boyfriend is nonexistent. So I hang out with Belle (see above). I also have a nephew named Ethan. I don’t usually like babies but I am a big fan of this one. I have a younger stepbrother who is half Mexican. He is pretty chill.

I worked retail for the past year. I learned that I like people but I do not like monotonous work environments. My coworkers were really cool. The Starbucks baristas always hooked us up with free samples.

My Spanish is awful. I accidentally connected with my host mom about how much we both hate dogs. Which sucks because I love dogs and now I have to pretend I don’t, or admit to her that I am mal at Spanish, which she is definitely catching on to.

I think I was meant for the beach. I could spend hours there doing nothing and be perfectly happy.

I like to read. It’s been rough in college because there are so many other things grabbing my attention that I have barely had any time. However, here in Viña, I’ve had a lot of time to catch up. It’s been very relaxing.

My teams are as follows, and in this order: The Pirates (baseball), USA (soccer), Mexico (soccer), Las Chivas (soccer), Iowa Cubs (kind of baseball). I love sporting events, even if I don’t always understand what is happening.

I am an International Business major, with a focus on Latin American and Cultural studies, a concentration in Business Law, and a certificate in Spanish. Not sure if my university could have made it any more complicated. This means that I have no idea what I want to do with my life. But I have a few years still. If all else fails, I’ll go to grad school. I’m thinking the University of South Carolina because they have a masters program for International Business that lets you travel abroad for a full year, in Paris.

I’m not homesick. Yet. But I like to think of myself of a strong, independent woman. So I’m hoping it doesn’t happen.

I’m a sucker for a good view. That could be one reason I love Viña so much. Everywhere you turn there’s beauty- the beach, the hills, the shops, the ocean, the palm trees. In Des Moines, I’ve found the few good views of downtown and I try to take those routes to get home. I think the little things in life are important.

I like to laugh. I also like to make people laugh. It’s been difficult here because I’m not sure how to be funny in Spanish.

I can be very competitive. The feeling of winning- an argument, a soccer game, a hot dog eating contest, you name it- is one of the best feelings on earth. The other best feelings: the sun on your skin, making someone else feel happy, and being loved.

Hope this helps you get to know me better, chao.”

I hope my professor likes it. 

One thought on “Autobiography.

Leave a Reply

