RELAYS

It’s relays time! If you are not super familiar with Drake yet, the Drake Relays is a huge event that has been held here every spring for the past 103 years. This year is the big 1-0-4! It’s basically a week of celebrating Drake; its traditions, its alumni, and its current students. Since I was young, I’ve gone to watch the races with my dad (a Drake alum), but have never really fully appreciated their importance. This year, I am so pumped for my first official relays as a bulldog!

For students here, there is a full two weeks of events leading up to & during relays. One of my favorite events so far has been the DU Blue Book Bash, which was held today. I may be biased because I helped in the planning process, along with Kelcy Smith of the service learning office and Adam Graves of SAB, but I think it was a fantastic success! What the event entailed was students coming and bringing books to donate, which will fund next year’s event, and then staying to volunteer at the event. This meant they got to read to kids, help them color their own personal “street painting” squares, make bookmarks, and write letters to the athletes participating in the relays. It was such an awesome experience for the students here to be able to participate in a service project during relays week, without even having to leave campus! More importantly though, the children that came to the event got to experience a little piece of relays and get more of a connection with Drake. Plus, they got to take home a free book. (:

Here’s one of the good luck letters written to the athletes. It was so cute I just about died:

 Image

I can’t wait to see what the rest of the week holds for me! Rumor has it there is pole-vaulting at JC mall tomorrow, so, holla.

One thought on “RELAYS

Leave a Reply

