The view from the track

As I mentioned in my last post, the Drake Relays were held this past weekend. The blue oval is a sacred place for Drake students and alum, so I thought it would be interesting to give a perspective from someone down there in the midst of it! Without further ado, I give you Ms. Taylor Scholl, athlete extraordinare.

Image

(photo credit to Taylor’s lovely mother Darcy Scholl!)

ME: Tell us a little bit about yourself!

TSCHOLL: I go by Taylor.

ME: Aaaand,

TSCHOLL: I am currently a freshman, on the track team. I’m originally from the good old state of Minnesota, land of 10,000 lakes, but you don’t need to put that in there. I’m an international business major, et parler vous francais.

ME: That’s awesome! Why did you decide to come to Drake?

TSCHOLL: Why not!? To be honest with you Mollie, it seemed like the best fit for me here.

ME: Has it been difficult being a student athlete?

TSCHOLL: It just requires me to balance my time more.

ME: How did you feel going into your first race of the Drake Relays?

TSCHOLL: Well my first race was on Thursday, and I was anxiously nervous.

ME: How did you feel after your first race?

TSCHOLL: Terrible. Humiliated. Awful.

ME: Thank you for being truthful. Are you looking forward next year? Do you think you’ll do anything differently to prepare?

TSCHOLL: Yes definitely, it’s gonna be awesome. I just think I ran the race really stupidly and so I hope that will be different next year.

ME: What was your overall impression of Relays?

TSCHOLL: So awesome, so exciting, I wanted to live on the track, it was heaven on earth.

Fun facts:

Celeb Crush… “Tie between Zac Efron and Tom Brady.”

If your life were a movie… “King Kong.”

Do you collect anything? “I have a sunglasses addiction, and hats.”

Worst gift you’ve ever received… “A lousy text from you.” (awks)

Celebrity look alike… “Idk. No one ever mistakes me for a celebrity. Wait, I am celebrity soo….”

Songs on your life soundtrack… “Unwritten, by Natasha Beddingfield, & Breathe, by Michelle Branch.”

If you were trapped on a desert island, what two things would you need with you? “My sister & sunglasses.”

One thought on “The view from the track

  1. Pingback: Spotlight on Sammy | molliewheelerdrake

Leave a Reply

