15 Great Ways to Avoid Studying for Finals

#1: Make a new playlist. Tweak and perfect your playlist to the point where you can say it has the perfect mix of good mood & pump up music. (This varies from person to person. For me, this includes music from artists such as 2 Chainz, Vanilla Ice, Nelly Furtado, the Cure, Tyga, U2, etc…) Please don’t hesitate to send me your playlists once they are finished. 

#2: Do some research on a completely random subject. (I now know the blue book value of my car, my sister’s car, my parents’ cars, and a 2013 Ford Mustang Shelby GT500 Convertible with 20,000 miles ($61,000 if you were curious).)

#3: Search for thirty minutes for an app that will block twitter and facebook off your phone, then give up and just delete the apps. Later, realize that you can still access both from your computer, and slap yourself.

#4: Take ugly pictures with your friends. They should look something like this:

Image

#5: Like all of your friends’ ugly pictures on instagram.

#6: Google inspirational quotes to power you through this difficult time. (My fave: “Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’!”-Audrey Hepburn)

#7: Wanelo. Guys aren’t gonna get this one, so fellas feel free to replace Wanelo with ESPN.

#8: Catch up on all your favorite tv shows. There are so many good ones. And they’re all more interesting than your statistics final.

#9: Get lost on your way to buy groceries at Target and have a mini roadtrip. The playlist you made in #1 will come in handy here.

#10: Choreograph your own dance to a song. I will not give you any embarrassing examples, although high school years produced many.

#11: Take up knitting. This one is inspired by a friend of mine. If you think accounting is boring, try knitting the same thing for an hour and a half. It will really put things in perspective.

#12: Pack. (My checkout time is 2:15 on Friday though, so I’m thinking I can put that off until, like, 2:00 on Friday? If my freshman year has taught me anything, it’s how to procrastinate.)

#13: Write your bucket list. Number one should be “Ace my finals,” it’ll be a good motivator.

#14: Eat. The average college student eats around 3 meals a day. During finals week, ‘mealtime’ means ‘study break’, and the average number of meals consumed by college students doubles.

#15: Write a blog post about the best ways to avoid studying for your finals. 

Leave a Reply

