Summer Activity Update

My first week of summer was not as relaxing as I had planned (which is probably the problem, I had to plan out my relaxation time). It was a pretty great start though. I got some of my stuff unpacked but I still have a ways to go. I should be done by like mid August at the very latest. I also got to catch up with some old friends which was awesome. I watched East kick Indianola’s butt on the soccer field and went to a bbq and a couple of bonfires and laid out and went to the mall pretty much fit like an entire mini-summer into this one week. 

One of the most memorable things that I have gotten to do this week was to volunteer at the Special Olympics. Image

My friend Kallie is really passionate about special needs kids and asked me about a month ago if I wanted to roadtrip up to Ames for a few days in May and volunteer with her. I’m so glad that I agreed to go because it was such a cool thing to witness. I have never been in a more supportive, accepting, and encouraging environment. I admire the families, volunteers, social workers, and athletes SO much. If you ever get the chance to help out with something like this I would definitely not let it go to waste, it is an amazing experience.

Leave a Reply

