Saying Goodbye to My Best Friend

Saying goodbye is never easy. Especially when it’s directed towards someone (thing?) you never thought you’d have to part from. The Starbucks across from campus is shutting it’s doors on July 12th. The day I heard this news ranks among the saddest days of my life. Upon hearing about this tragedy, a single tear escaped from my eye. Jk but that does sounds pretty poetic I think.

Professors and students alike are outraged.Ā ImageImageStarbucks is one of my fave places in the entire world. Granted, I’m writing this from the Amici downtown (sry strbux i stil luv u), but the West Village Starbucks was such a great place to go to catch up with friends, grab a much needed Saturday morning IWM, or do some homeworkĀ facebook stalking.

I’m not sure exactly why it’s closing but I do know that I am devastated. Here is a Haiku to show how I feel about this:

Farewell my dear friend,

My loyalty lies with you,

Till we meet again.

Beautiful, I know. And sure, Olmsted and the library brew Starbucks coffee, but until they legitimately train their workers, I just can’t. Here is the spreadsheet I made at the beginning of the fall semester to show the disappointing results of my trips to the Olmsted coffeeshop:

Image

I think I had too much time on my hands at the beginning of the year. But you get the picture.

To look on the bright side, this travesty will only strengthen my relationship with Mars Cafe. It’s a longer walk, but the drinks are pretty and the atmosphere is super chill. So Mars, I look forward to our next 3 years together. This is the start of a beautiful thing <3

To finish off this obnoxiously long blog post love letter, here are a few pictures, in tribute.

ImageImageI’ll love you forever <3 <3 <3

3 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to My Best Friend

  1. Pingback: Coffee Again | molliewheelerdrake

  2. Pingback: Scooter’s Coffee House Review | dat DU blue

  3. Pingback: Goodbyes from around the world | Let's DU College

Leave a Reply

