Parents & Family Weekend

Sometimes I totally take for granted the fact that all of my immediate family lives within 30 minutes of Drake. So when Parents & Family Weekend comes around every fall here, it’s kind of like “we just got dinner last weekend but if you wanna meet up again that’s fine.” This year was a lot of fun though and I ended up being able to see basically all of my family! I know it seems like obvi I’m gonna see them since we’re all in the same city, but I don’t see them as often as you’d think. I hadn’t seen my oldest sister since before school started!

Every year Drake has a different set of events for parents weekend (2013’s can be found here if you’re curious: <https://www.drake.edu/parents-handbook/parentsandfamilyweekend/&gt;). Last year we went on the fun run and the football game and had a blast. This year, I’m like more grown up, so we left the planned events to the freshman and tried some new things. (And by new I mean we got food and coffee)

My schedule:

Friday, September 20, 2013

3:00 PM Coffee @ Scooter’s with my sister Sarah before work

Saturday, September 21, 2013

10:00 AM Brunch with my momma @ Americana (so good)

2:00 PM Coffee & Ice Cream Sandwiches @ Mars Cafe with my dad & stepmom, <3

3:00 PM Sweethearts Sing @ Sheslow auditorium with my dad & stepmom, kappa’s skit was suuuper cute

5:30 PM My dad & stepmom help me clean my mess of a room (@ Morehouse)

6:30 PM Dinner with those two lovely people, plus some of my fave kkg sisters and their parents, @ Wellman’s Pub & Rooftop

Sunday, September 22, 2013

10:30 AM Brunch @ Kappa with my dad, stepmom, & stepbrother (they bought me clothes(<3) & I got to give them a tour of the big brick house)

2:00 PM World Food Fest downtown in the East Village with my mom & older sister Kim

It was really nice to be able to see everyone & catch up, Drake sometimes feels like a completely different world and it’s nice to know my family roots are still intact. I love knowing that if I ever need a place to stay or a home-cooked meal, it’s right down the road. At the same time, though, if I want to be independent and on my own (which, yeah), I totally can be (:

my dad, ronda, and I in front of kappa

my dad, ronda, and I in front of kappa

my stepbrother nick, who was totally up for brunch with the fam if it meant meeting college sorority girls

my stepbrother nick, who was totally up for brunch with the fam if it meant meeting college sorority girls

Leave a Reply

