A Week on the East Coast

I got to travel to the east coast this past week for both a training in Stamford, CT, as well as kind of a vacation in Boston (Duxbury), MA, and an hour or two of wandering in downtown NYC.

The training was awesome. I got to learn more about promoting study abroad, met some awesome people, and the food wasn’t half bad either* (*the food was incredible). AIFS is an awesome organization.

The highlight of my trip, however, was seeing my favorite person in the world again, after a month and a half without him.

We only spent a little while in downtown Boston, where we got to see a breakdance crew, an alpaca, and the shops and restaurants of Faneuil hall. We also got to experience the traffic struggles of a big city, and were able to grab brunch at this amazing restaurant next to the Garden. This is where I got to try fried oysters for the first time; they were delicious.

Down in Duxbury, I got to see what small town New England life was like. The beach was incredible, and the views of the ocean and the coast. I got to witness my first sunrise over the ocean and ride in a sailboat (on a windless night, but still kinda cool). After spending a semester in a coastal city and coming home to land locked Des Moines, I had forgotten how much I loved it. Any time of day or night, you can take a dip in the ocean. People who live in coastal areas I think can take this for granted sometimes, but count your blessings. I miss the beach every day.

10606208_10203826726524246_3327947703078007791_n
After a 4 hour bus ride back to NYC from Boston, I wandered around the city with my luggage looking for Grand Central. NYC is not all it’s hyped up to be. It’s messy and busy, which is usually where I thrive, but this time it was just too much for me. Their skyline, though, is one of the most amazing things to look it in the world (Des Moines… yours is nice too..).

This trip also reminded me that while I love to pretend to be independent, public transportation is annoying and I love my car. After multiple planes, trains and <buses>, I’m finally home, enjoying my last week of the summer to the fullest. Next week, I move in to kappa and get to continue the adventure I started two years ago, as a Junior at the best uni in the world.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

