Back & Blue

Des Moines is really cool, don’t get me wrong. It’s one of my favorite places in the world. But it’s so weird being here after being abroad. 

I’m sure a lot of my fellow returnees are feeling this same way… It’s not that I’m not happy about being home. I love seeing my friends and family again. But after the magic of being abroad, being back is just sort of… average. 

I can’t grab Starbucks and walk to the beach to enjoy it. 

I can’t make friends with ANY street dogs. 

I can’t practice my Spanish (read: embarrass myself) as much. 

I can’t watch sunsets over the Pacific. 

My only solution was to throw myself 110% into my first semester back. So far, having real classes, i.e. classes that don’t allow for as much travel, and classes with real homework, have been alright for me. I can tell being back will be more challenging. But I’m ready for it. That along with work and kappa and other responsibilities will be more than enough to make me forget what I’m missing out on in that beautiful country 14 hours south of here. 

I’m still missing my abroad experience a ton, and already planning my next abroad adventure… That’s what J-Terms are for, right? 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

