Labor Day

According to the U.S. department of labor’s website, Labor Day “is a creation of the labor movement and is dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. It constitutes a yearly national tribute to the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of our country.”

The first labor day was celebrated in 1882.

Nice little history lesson for you. You’re welcome.

It’s fun being in the grown up world because you learn to appreciate Labor Day more. To appreciate a day where no one should be working… and if they do ask you to work they give you time and a half. Which is a wonderful thing really. 

Working retail has completely opened my eyes to the wonderful world of labor. And how a day off is so sweet. And so is time and a half. 

Working retail has also shown me I don’t want to spend more time working retail than necessary. I think it’s a decent college job but it drains my energy so quick. Helping rude people is exhausting. Like help me help you starts with you being nice to me. 

It has shown me that in my future job, I definitely want to be doing something with variety. I hate monotonous work. I want something that challenges me and helps me grow as a professional, as well as something stimulating and interesting to me. That can’t be that hard to find. 

Not on the job hunt yet though. One more year until senior year panic kicks in.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

