Stress

It’s coming down to the wire. Or it will be in about 2 weeks’ time and I’m feelin’ the pressure.

Webster’s Dictionary defines stress as:

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 5.09.52 PM

Sources of my stress:

My classes. Mostly business law. I have never had to do so much memorizing in my life. In high school I usually just got the grade by arguing around the point if I didn’t know the exact answer. Business law requires you to memorize exact definitions and concepts, and then apply them to real life situations. You have to look at it from every angle, and as interesting as it is, memorizing has never been my strong point. Arguing, writing, processes, math… I can do those things. Or if I can’t, I can figure them out. You can’t “figure out” how to memorize. It’s just not in my blood. My other classes are less stressful, just a lot of final projects all culminating in a wave of homework that is looming dangerously close to the private beach where I’m trying to soak up the last rays of relaxation before diving in headfirst. Was that a good analogy or what.

Christmas shopping. I love to buy the perfect presents. But I’m actually usually really terrible at it. Combine those two things with my lack of monetary funds right now and you get a stressed out holiday shopper.

Christmas plans in general. When should I travel to the east coast to visit that kid I’m dating? (6 month anni a few days back, if anyone was interested <3) When will my sister be in town so we can eat Christmas cookies and watch Elf? When is my other sister bringing over my precious little nephew? What is Christmas morning gonna look like this year, as the last Wheeler girl to leave the nest continues to linger? Should I get an internship for J Term? How should I go about pursuing a three week job opening..? Because those are rare. <<<<STRESS

Money. I mean I’m in college so that’s normal. Dealing with the stress of classes so that someday I don’t have to deal with the stress of those dolla signs.

ETC– When you start to get stressed out, it’s a slippery slope. Suddenly little things that didn’t stress you out before are blown way out of proportion to the point where forgetting a pencil for class is basically a catastrophic event for you.

Thankfully this weekend I got to visit my sister up in Wisco and it was a pretty relaxing weekend. So I’m preparing myself for the next three weeks by throwing myself into my assignments and studies. You can catch me at your local coffee shop or Cowles lib until finals week releases me from the stress blanket it’s currently wrapping me in,

xoxo,

Leave a Reply

