Goodbyes from around the world

This is my last paid blog post for Drake University. As you may have read in one of my previous blogs, the student blog program was cancelled this month. So to say goodbye (which is more symbolic than practical seeing as I am definitely going to continue posting here), I thought I would share with you all some goodbyes from other cultures.

The Irish Goodbye : You may have heard of this already. In modern society, an Irish Goodbye is one where a guest leaves a party or event without saying goodbye. They just slip out quietly and abruptly. In our culture it’s a little bit rude to do an Irish goodbye. Think about it- when you leave a friend’s house, it’s polite to say bye to your host and let them know you’re heading out, right? In Ireland though it is not rude, but rather the norm. This is not because they’re a cold culture. In fact they’re supposed to be super welcoming and friendly. From what I’ve found from my brief google search, Irish goodbyes are due to the fact that hosts are SO welcoming, that if they know you’re leaving they’ll try to restart the convo, offering you more food or tea and attempting to convince you to stay.

(This is not an Irish goodbye, because I’m drawing it out for an entire blog post, and you’re welcome.)

A Goodbye I wrote in Des Moines

A Classic Italian Goodbye Sonnet

Chinese Goodbyes : Different sources here have informed me of different things here, but this was most common- make a fist with your right hand and place it in the palm of your left hand but DON’T CLOSE YOUR LEFT HAND and DEFINITELY DO NOT LOOK THE OTHER PERSON IN THE EYE. There’s also some goodbye phrase that they say here but I can’t pronounce it so if you’re really that curious, you’re just a google search away from finding out what that is.

Saying Goodbye in Chile : “Chao” followed by a kiss on the cheek (generally an air kiss but some people really just go for it here)

Carlin’s Impression of a Chilean Goodbye (AKA the Opposite of an Irish Goodbye) : I met this girl Carlin while I was hear, who was dating this Chilean guy Daniel. From her experiences in the country, she decided that Chilean goodbyes are the opposite of an Irish goodbye. Like they’ll say goodbye and they want you to know that they are officially leaving. Her example came from a night when she and some friends were playing cards at Daniel’s place, and at around 12 pm, Daniel stood up, said good night, and went to his room. Like he was done hanging out and he was just letting them know (and kicking them out at the same time). It’s an interesting theory. Chileans can definitely be abrupt and straightforward, so I think it has some merit.

Saying Goodbye in Spain : “Adiós” followed by a kiss on each cheek

A Train Song about Goodbyes

Handshakes : I think this is mostly a teenage boy custom. Teenage to young adult.

See Ya Fred : This is something my mom says sometimes to me and I’m not sure why. Maybe she’s becoming senile and has forgotten my name.

Saying Goodbye in Chile Part 3 : Tomorrow is my despedida, or Chilean send off that usually involves alcohol and reminiscing. I’m not leaving Chile yet, but I do finish up my internship on Friday. Chileans find an excuse to celebrate anything and I love that. Birthdays, send offs, babies, new apartment, new job, new shoes, like anything.

And I guess that’s it! There are probably more ways to say goodbye but I can’t be sure really. Thanks for reading about my life, I try to live it interestingly so I hope that has been translated well over the past three years.

xxoxoxoooxooxoooxox

Leave a Reply

