How to be the right kind of girl. This post involves boys and rules.

Always go after what you want, but make sure it’s actually an attainable goal, sweetie. 

Always go after what you want, but make sure you play hard to get.

Play hard to get, but show some interest or else how will he know you’re interested.

Stand up for what you believe in, but don’t be a b*tch about it. 

Dress to impress, but don’t show too much skin, but also show enough skin to get noticed, but don’t forget to respect yourself as a human being.

Be yourself – boys like when you look natural, so make sure you put on enough make-up to really perfect that natural look. 

Be yourself – be your silly fun outspoken self, but also be coy, laugh at his jokes even when they’re not funny, don’t correct him when he’s wrong. 

Be independent and powerful and strong, but when dealing with boys, play dumb, because they don’t exactly like to be shown up by a girl.

Don’t be fake, but be nice to everyone even if they suck.

Don’t be fake, but wear synthetic eyelashes, get acrylics, dye your hair, tan your skin, and plastic surgery is never out of the question.

Do well in school, even though no matter what you’ll make less than the boy who copies off of your work for 4 years.

Reach for the stars, but if you fall it’s okay to cry because that’s really expected of you, girls do tend to let their emotions get the best of them from time to time. 

Be happy with who you are, but read this magazine to find out ten ways to get your dream body. 

Be happy with who you are, but why can’t you look like her?

Why not text him first – this is the 21st century after all, but make sure to maintain a little mystery, you have to play the game you know, boys don’t want what they don’t have to chase. 

Wait for the right boy, but when a woman reaches a certain age, darling, it’s probably time to suck it up and settle down. 

I’m writing this because I am fed up with all the rules and regulations of being a 21 year old girl in the 21st century. It’s really no wonder I walk around with this confused and angry look plastered onto my face, because I honestly don’t know how society wants me to act anymore. Don’t be too forward or too timid, don’t be too bossy but don’t let yourself be bossed, have an opinion but keep it to yourself, make yourself look presentable but don’t try too hard, don’t text him first but hey there’s no rulebook just text him first. It’s impossible to keep up with. And how do I succeed at this stupid game if I can’t figure out the damn rules, or if people keep denying there are rules. If I cut out the other players, maybe I can change the game. But something tells me that other 50% of the population can’t exactly be cut out.

So instead, I’m going to have to just make my own rules. Honestly, I’m tired of figuring everything out as I go, which is how most of my blog posts end (with me promising to keep working, to figure my life out, to sort out my mess of feelings and thoughts). I really know exactly who I am, where I want to go, what I want my life to be like. So this time, they (society, boys, my friends) can figure it out as I go.

2 thoughts on “How to be the right kind of girl. This post involves boys and rules.

  1. Mollie Wheeler, I miss you. This made me smile, and reading your blog has me falling in love with the woman you are becoming/have become this far. I would love to reconnect.

Leave a Reply

