Real Job

Alternate title “More Money Does Not Mean More Problems And Whoever Said That Was Dumb”

I finally have a real life, salaried, benefitted, full-time position at my company! I am no longer just an intern and it feels super. Not only because I feel like I’m a real member of our company now, but also because I can officially afford to be in Chicago.

Which leads me to the fact that more money absolutely means less problems. I can get real lunch instead of eating rice cakes and peanut butter when I’m out of dollas. I can buy on-brand (?) cheese and toilet paper and bread. I don’t have to worry about paying rent with the whopping $13 in my bank account (how did I survive this summer).

Now, I am living comfortably (still not crazy rich but I’ll keep you updated), continuing to supplement my salary and my cuddle time with dog sitting every couple of weekends. And the best part is that I love what I’m doing so far.

My title is Business Development Rep – B2B. Which, to be honest, is a brand new role AKA there are still a lot of gray areas when it comes to my responsibilities. One of my favorite right now is being able to attend conferences. I’m currently sitting in sunny Orlando for a 3 day marketing conference, and I’m so excited for it to get underway.

While I don’t have a ton to report on the actual job so far, I did want to take a second and comment on the awesome women I work with. My department is like 85% women, and it’s so inspiring. My boss is a woman, her boss is a woman (and a Drake grad holla) – even my great grand-boss is a woman. Sure, like any company, there’s still a gender imbalance specifically when it comes to the executive board. Of course that will be remedied in a few years when I’m CEO. Obviously. Focusing on the positive though, I love being surrounded by powerful, driven women. They are the best role models I could’ve asked for starting out in my career, and I’m so excited to see what I can continue to learn from them.

More fun updates to come. Like maybe I’ll tell you about my terrible Bumble dates or my exciting times in Wrigleyville or my experiences on the train. That’s another post though.

 

 

Leave a Reply

